The Tim Kelley Heroes Scholarship

After Tim's death in 2003, Kelley’s Heroes believed the best way to honor his memory was to keep the band going and to offer a scholarship in his name. Tim was a life-long resident of Caledonia and a 1977 graduate of Caledonia-Mumford Central School, where he played trumpet in the school band program from fourth grade through graduation. While attending Alfred University for Agriculture, he played trumpet in jazz band. He played for many community and church events and was a member of the Skycoasters for many years before founding the Caledonia Firemen’s Band, which eventually became Kelley’s Heroes. Tim was proud to have been among the 2003 inaugural group of inductees into the Caledonia-Mumford Music Department Hall of Fame, an award given to Cal-Mum graduates and community members who have made significant contributions, had great accomplishments, or have been lifelong music participants.

The student selected for the Tim Kelley Heroes Scholarship will possess qualities exemplified by Kelley’s Heroes founder and leader. Tim brought his enthusiasm for music to the band and challenged its members to perform with spirit. The successful candidate will have been:

  • A member of the Caledonia-Mumford High School band
  • Recommended by the high school band teacher

The successful candidate will have demonstrated

  • Love of music and performing
  • Musicianship, leadership and showmanship
  • A sense of humor and spirit

Membership in Kelley's Heroes Marching Band is encouraged, but not required.

Scholarship applications are available each spring in the Cal-Mum Counseling Center and the recipient is announced at graduation. Congratulations to these recipients!

2019 Tanner Nothnagle
2019 Connor Kelley (Honorable Mention)
2019 Donovan Kelley (Honorable Mention)
2018 Sarah Efing
2018 Trevor Kelley (Honorable Mention)
2017 Zachary Morin
2016 Allets Schicker
2015 Sean Dollard
2014 Hannah Webster
2013 Jessica Laursen
2012 Katelyn Cappotelli
2011 Allison Shaw
2010 Katherine Kovatch
2009 Lorelei Meier
2008 Harold Neale
2007 Conor Sullivan
2006 Kyle Geer
2005 Ben Benedict
2004 Jake Kaplan